Published on December 10th, 2017 | by Daniel Boyle


Colo Colo Take 32nd Title

Colo Colo overpowered Huachipato 3-0 to take their 32nd crown in the Torneo de Transicion.

While Unión Española and Universidad de Chile both won their final games, it was too little too late, with Colo Colo scoring three late goals. Jaime Valdes opened the scoring with a penalty after 74 minutes. Despite not playing through the season, huge cheers were reserved for Gonzalo Fierro when he replaced Valdes. Colo Colo only lost two games in the tournament under the guidance of Pablo Guede.

The campaign featured the experience of the returned Jorge Valdivia alongside veterans such as Valdes and Esteban Paredes.

With the title in the bag, Colo Colo will be one of Chile’s representatives in next year’s Copa Libertadores, joining Universidad de Chile and Santiago Wanderers with one more place still to be decided. The win has seen Colo Colo draw level with Boca Juniors in terms of titles, putting them as equal fifth. The “Cacique” will be hoping for large improvements on recent international experiences, with their victory in the 1991 Libertadores final becoming an ever-distant memory.

Tags: ,

About the Author

Founder of @sportslashlife. Australian living in Chile. Freestyle footbag player and passionate sports fan.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

eight − one =

Back to Top ↑