Football Chile win Homeless World Cup. Photo via Homeless World Cup/Facebook

Published on October 26th, 2014 | by Daniel Boyle


Chile Homeless World Cup Champions

Both Chilean teams lifted the trophy in front of an enthusiastic crowd at the Homeless World Cup. The men’s team returned to the top of the podium after their 2012 victory, while the women avenged their 2013 loss to Mexico.

After starting out with a 16-0 victory over Argentina, Chile were always going to be a power in the tournament. With the week-long tournament attracting huge attendances, the chance of a Chilean victory in both tournaments ensured a strong crowd and the regular Chi Chi Chi Le Le Le chants continued through the day.

The women’s team were first up, facing Mexico in a rematch of the 2013 final in Poznan, Poland. While the Chilean girls walked off disappointed after a disjointed performance in Poland, it was another story unfolding in front of La Moneda.

In a close match, Chile edged out Mexico, with the final score going 4-3 to the home team. It continued a steady rise for the Chilean outfit, who debuted in 2012 with a bronze in Mexico, before reaching the final in 2013 and taking out the trophy on home soil.

With the men also lifting the trophy after their 5-2 win over Bosnia and Herzegovina, Chile made history by becoming the first country to win both men’s and women’s titles at the Homeless World Cup. Brazil managed to take third place in both divisions.

Tags: , , ,

About the Author

Founder of @sportslashlife. Australian living in Chile. Freestyle footbag player and passionate sports fan.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

twenty − 13 =

Back to Top ↑