Football Chile against Uruguay at Estadio Nacional. Photo: Daniel Boyle

Published on May 13th, 2014 | by Daniel Boyle


Sampaoli Names 30 Man Chile Squad for World Cup

With big names such as Jorge Valdivia and Gary Medel already arriving for training, Chile coach Jorge Sampaoli has named his preliminary squad for the World Cup in Brazil.

The 30 players include four goalkeepers, with the squad set to be trimmed to 23 before the tournament kicks off. The squad contains no great surprises, with veterans David Pizarro and Humberto Suazo already having been practically discarded by the Argentinian coach.

“New” Chileans Miiko Albornoz and Pablo Hernández have their chance to impress after strong performances against Costa Rica. In the crucial central attacking position, Sampaoli has looked at Gustavo Canales and Esteban Paredes from the local front, and brought Mauricio Pinilla and Fabian Orellana into the squad to add backup to Eduardo Vargas and Alexis Sánchez. Playing in the United Arab Emirates, Carlos Muñoz has proved “out of sight, out of mind”, despite a strong performance against Costa Rica.

None of the young players that starred for Chile’s under 20 team have been considered, with Nicolás Castillo selected for the Toulon tournament, while Bryan Rabello and Ángleo Henríquez have not showed the form required to make the list.

Arturo Vidal is in the squad and Chile will hope to have him fit for the first match against Australia. The key fight for positions will be in the middle of the pitch, with close to half of the squad selected as midfielders. One goalkeeper will be left out, with the battle likely to be between Paulo Garcés and Christopher Toselli.

Chile Preliminary World Cup Squad

1. Claudio Bravo – Real Sociedad (Spain)
2. Paulo Garcés – O’Higgins (Chile)
3. Johnny Herrera – Universidad de Chile (Chile)
4. Cristopher Toselli – Universidad Católica (Chile)
5. Alexis Sánchez – FC Barcelona (Spain)
6. Miiko Albornoz – Malmo FF (Sweden)
7. Enzo Andía – Universidad Católica (Chile)
8. Charles Aránguiz – Internacional de Porto Alegre (Brazil)
9. Jean Beausejour – Wigan Athletic (England)
10. Gustavo Canales – Unión Española (Chile)
11. Carlos Carmona – Atalanta (Italy)
12. Marcelo Díaz – FC Basel (Switzerland)
13. Matías Fernández – Fiorentina (Italy)
14. José Pedro Fuenzalida – Colo Colo (Chile)
15. Marcos González – Unión Española (Chile)
16. Felipe Gutiérrez – FC Twente (The Netherlands)
17. Pedro Pablo Hernández – O’Higgins (Chile)
18. Mauricio Isla – Juventus FC (Italy)
19. Gonzalo Jara – Nottingham Forest FC (England)
20. Gary Medel – Cardiff City FC (England)
21. Eugenio Mena – Santos FC (Brazil)
22. Rodrigo Millar – CSD Atlas (Mexico)
23. Fabián Orellana – Celta Vigo (Spain)
24. Esteban Paredes – Colo Colo (Chile)
25. Mauricio Pinilla – Cagliari (Italy)
26. José Rojas – Universidad de Chile (Chile)
27. Francisco Silva – CA Osasuna (Spain)
28. Jorge Valdivia – Palmeiras (Brazil)
29. Eduardo Vargas – Valencia CF (Spain)
30. Arturo Vidal – Juventus FC (Italy)

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About the Author

Founder of @sportslashlife. Australian living in Chile. Freestyle footbag player and passionate sports fan.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

3 × one =

Back to Top ↑